President’s Message

Honourable Members of the ISWS


The tenure of the present executive body is coming to an end and the election for the next Executive body of the ISWS has been declared by the election officer. It is time to look back at the achievements made during the tenure of the present EC and also to prepare the future road map for the society.
The society has been able to make its presence in the scientific community for quite a long period since its inception. It is natural for such a large society to go through ups and downs, but it is important to keep its roots firm on the ground through all these times. When I took over the rein of the Society as President, the image of the Society had already been strengthened among the national and international scientific community due to the efforts of the previous executive body. The credit goes to immediate past presidents and secretaries. I would like to place on record my sincere appreciation for Dr. Yaduraju, my immediate predecessors and Dr. A.R. Sharma , Secretary of the society and executive members of that period as well.
In 2018, most significant event of the society was to celebrate its Golden Jubilee in befitting manner by organizing International Conference at ICAR-Directorate of Weed Research (DWR), Jabalpur from 21-23 November, 2018. About 400 delegates attended the conference including many from abroad representing Israel. USA, Japan, Australia etc. This conference was able to achieve its purpose and was the successful culmination of the efforts of the present executive body and the members of the society. The conference could provide a platform for the Weed Scientists to deliberate upon the relevance of weeds to the society as a whole. The conference was graced by the presence of Jonathan Gressel from Israel as a Chief Guest. Eminent Weed Scientists like Dr. Yoshiharu Fuji from Japan, Dr. Bhagirath Chauhan from Australia, Dr. Krishna Reddy, Dr. Prashant Jha, Dr. Megh Singh, Dr. Mithila Jugulam, Dr. Vijay Nandula etc. from USA enriched the scientific community with their valuable suggestions in weed management. The conference was also graced by many eminent scientists from India like Dr. L.S. Brar, Dr. N.T. Yaduraju, Dr. A.N. Rao. Dr. Jay. G. Varshney, Dr. R.P. Singh etc. I personally thank all the members of different committees who worked hard to make the conference a great success. I am particularly thankful to Dr. P.K. Singh, Director, DWR for providing all the facilities at his disposal and the untiring efforts of Dr. Sushil Kumar, Dr. Bhumesh Kumar and Mr. Gyanendra P. Singh. The whole hearted support from different industries facilitated many components of the conference. One of the major achievement of the society was to encourage student participants through travel grants and hence to inspire a future generation of weed researchers.
The recommendations of the conference will be compiled to be used as a reference material for deciding the future strategies of weed management and utilization.
It is a matter of pride that the Indian Journal of Weed Science is being published timely with quality research papers. Its impact has gone up in the NAAS rating. I am sure the present Editorial Board under the guidance of Dr. J.S. Mishra will be able to take it further to greater heights.
It is impossible to place on record my appreciations for every individual by name. But it is beyond doubt that the success of a society is the result of hard work and unselfish devotion of many individuals. Criticism from individuals is also important so that the short-comings are taken care of. Therefore, I heartily accepted the criticism of my friends and colleagues throughout my tenure. But in my view, such criticisms should be aimed for the upliftment of the society rather than narrow personal interests.
I thank all the members of the society for showing faith in my leadership. I personally take all the responsibilities for the shortcomings, if any during this period.
I hereby convey my best wishes to the next Executive Body, to be elected soon, for greater achievements in future.

V.P. Singh

President, ISWS